nail holes

I’m always very slow to hang things on the walls when I move into a new place, and the new house has been no exception. I think it’s a combination of wanting to live in the space for a while to get a feel for it, and a hesitancy to put nail holes in the walls. There’s just such a “you can’t turn back now” feeling. Well, without some work with filler and paint, anyway.

Now that we’ve been in the house for about six months, we’ve been starting to get things up on the walls. With so many great adventures and travel experiences over the last several years, I have a pretty decent catalog of photos. So, I thought it would be fun to use some of my own work to hang around the house. We have a very long foyer, and there’s a wide expanse of wall that needs to be addressed. I have been thinking about using one of my landscape shots from Canyonlands or one of my Southern Utah photos to be printed to a canvas (specifically a multi-part canvas) to fill the space.

I’ve never had a photo printed to canvas, and there are a lot of options out there. Costco advertises a service, and I’ve seen a lot of advertisements for various online printers, as well. The problem is…they’re not cheap, and I haven’t wanted to fork over the cash without being sure the print won’t look…cheesy. So, when Printcopia contacted me and offered me an opportunity to review their canvas print service, I jumped on it. What better way to sample the product and see if it will look the way I want it to in the space?

The process was basically the same as any upload to print service (like Costco, Walmart, etc.). My biggest hassle was trying to find a print that looked good in the dimensions of the 8×10 canvas preview screen. I cycled through a few photos before I settled on one with some really bright colors from our NYC trip last December. My order processed quickly, even with the free shipping option, and I received UPS confirmations when it shipped and when it was delivered (since I was out of town). Total process and shipping time was about one week, which was much faster than the timeframe Printcopia provided with my order. The order was shipped securely, so there was no damage to the print.

print

The canvas actually looks better than I expected. Again, I sort of thought the print to canvas process might make things look cheesy; like you’re trying to turn your photo into some fine art piece. But, it actually pops the color and gives the photo some depth and texture that isn’t there in a traditional print. I would never go overboard and put these things up all over, but used sparingly, I think they are a great way to mix things up a bit.

Printcopia’s site was easy to use, and their service was excellent in this experience. I am sure there are other companies out there that do equally as a good a job, but I’ll use these guys again since I have good experience with them, and their prices were on par or even a bit more affordable than Costco. They also do vinyl banners, car magnets and lawn signs.

We’ve been thinking of having them do a lawn sign for us to freak out all the neighbors in our subdivision. Any suggestions?

2 responses to “nail holes

  1. I find it funny that you still did not hang it up on the wall. 🙂

    • Good catch. But, this was just a trial run on the product; 8×10 is way to small to hang anywhere in this house with its high ceilings. I think I’m taking this one out to MSP with me. My office needs a little personality.

Leave a Reply

